Over $93,000 Awarded In Scholarships


Press the link below for more information on our MWA Scholarships and how to apply.

2015 Scholarship Recipients

The Mission of the Madden Women's Association is to provide financial support for continuing education through annual scholarship awards to graduating African-American female high school and college students and to provide financial and active support for the Greater Dayton Youth Golf Academy.



8 Scholarship Recipients Awarded - $1,000 Each

Elaine Hagood Memorial Scholarship

Recipient - Lauren Stone


David H. Ponitz Career Technology Center. Andriel graduated in the top 10% of her graduating class, was a member of the Mathematics Gifted Club, the National Honor Society and the Dean’s List. She was a varsity cheerleader squad captain and member of the student council. She will attend Wright State University and plans to major in Nursing.


Logan M. Cobbs

University of Dayton. Logan completed her freshman year and is majoring in Political Science on a Pre-Law track. Logan was on the Dean’s List, a UD Marianist Leadership Scholar and a UD cheerleader. She is a 2015 Dayton Civic Scholar recipient and a 2015 State House Civic Scholar recipient. She is involved in church and community activities.


Trotwood-Madison High School. Alexus was on the Honor Roll for four years; Senior Class President and President of the National Honor Society. She has received awards from the State Senate, House of Representatives and Ohio Governor for science fair projects. She plans to attend the University of Cincinnati and major in Neuroscience.


Stivers School for the Arts. Elesa will be attending Skidmore College located in Saratoga Springs, NY majoring in Social Work. Elesa was a National Honor student; JCOWA secretary; member of Mu Alpha Theta (math club) and awarded the Most Outstanding Performance in Stivers’ Symphonic Wind Orchestra.


Dayton Early College Academy. Shantya will attend the University of Cincinnati and will be entering the Exploratory Studies Program. Shantya volunteers at United Against Violence of Greater Dayton and has given more than 100 hours of community service.


Dayton Early College Academy. Devine will attend Ohio University and will major in Cellular and Molecular Biology. Devine is a member of the Young Adults focus Council of United Against Violence of Greater Dayton. She has completed 150 hours of community service.


Chaminade Julienne High School. Staycie will be attending St. Mary’s College and will major in Biology. Staycie was a member of the National Honor Society, student council and volunteers at Children’s Medical Center. She received the Dwight White Scholarship award for her essay on how people function with sickle cell in their academic lives.


Stivers School for the Arts. Lauren will be attending Alabama State University and will major in Biomedical Engineering. She played varsity golf for four years, was a member of the Greater Dayton Youth Golf Academy and was named Golfer of the Year in 2013. She is also a mentor for the St. Margaret’s Summer Arts Camp.

Previous Scholarship Recipients by Year

Print Print | Sitemap
Copyright © 2013-2015 Madden Women's Association is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization